DESIGNER IN THE MAKING OR SO I THINK

After a long stint of taking off ,though not entirely, I am coming back into my designing and styling  world. As an important part of equipping myself better before I relaunch, I am doing some studies within my spectrum of  design.

I HAVE ENROLLED BACK TO COLLEGE; THE BEST IN THE COUNTRY FOR FASHION; which had been a dream for me for a very long time.

And as part of the studies , I am given various projects and assignments on fashion illustration which forms one of the core subjects. And boy! am I excited?

I have started doing my illustrations and colour rendering with the same excitement as when I had discovered the wondrous world of drawing with my papa years back . He was the one who introduced me and my brother to art.

I look at the colour pencils with the kind of uncontrollable glee that a 5 year old would do when she gets her brand new pack of these vibrant tools with which she would paint her future.I love the way the colour pencils glide over textured paper; so smooth.

20160102_141621-1

During these times, I stumbled across a realization or maybe  it’s just a feeling that my child could be serious about taking up a career in design too. Well, You would say and I also know that it’s too early to say,  as she is all of only 7, yet let me just bask in the glory of this beautiful feeling that she could follow my footsteps…. maybe!

I got a bit more convinced about this, the way she is serious about following all my work. She tries to copy and replicate all my projects and I am amazed at the way she is coming close to it taking into consideration her age.

The other day I just did an illustration and as soon as she saw it , she wanted to copy and I let her do it. Well! I had used some fabric also for a three-dimensional effect and it was a multimedia  thing.

20151228_182340-1

 20160102_130723 20151228_182451-1

I WAS IN AWE AS ANY MOTHER WOULD BE , OF HER OWN CHILD’S TALENT!

I have decided to give her exposure to the world of design more; just in case she wants to take it up professionally but i promise myself one thing. I shall not over do it. She can choose to fly in the direction she wants to and she should. At this juncture, I remember my mother, my tower of strength and motivation and about her undying trust in her kid’s talents where in, without even knowing much about the fields we took , my brother and I , she just let us fly. She only checked whether the wind beneath our wings were just right to take us to the places we wanted to go.

THANK YOU AMMA.

Leave a Reply

